Customer Testimonials 

June 26, 2017

"We have placed 4 orders so far this year, the newest one actually ships out today. Each time we have ordered the surprise box. 

So far we have not been disappointed. They always send a great assortment, are very polite on the phone, and the chicks are always very healthy.

We are very excited about our shipment today. Hopefully it will include lots of Easter eggers and polish, which we requested if they have extra of. They were great with our small request last time (anything pretty, please no solid white ones). I will update this review once they come in. If all goes well we may do one last order this year, if it doesn't get too hot for shipping. If so, we will still definitely be back to order more next year. Very, very Happy with cackle hatchery!"

June 23, 2017

"Just received our first order from Cackle, very impressed, all 55 arrived very active and healthy. I have order from another hatchery and every time have received a few chicks that never made it. Looking forward to doing business with them in the future"

June 22, 2017

Their chicks are in perfect health,they came to Pa. And no problem the ups driver I think was worried and brought them right to our door but they was fine super nice caring guy."

June 20, 2017

"If you want to set your farm or homestead up with a founder flock the only hatchery you need to purchase stock from is Cackle. The chicks are always extremely healthy and their genetics are pristine. You'll also find the staff at Cackle are not just knowledgeable. They are also very thoughtful and empathetic."

June 19, 2017

"I am extremely happy with my purchase!(2 broad breasted white Turkey's, 1 Royal Palm Turkey, 2 blue Swedish ducks, 1 black Swedish duck, and 9 chickens) I have never ordered from an online hatchery before and I was a little skeptical on what to expect. All of our birds arrived in a timely manor, in a very clean and safe package. The customer service was very sweet and helpful. All of the birds we received are very healthy and absolutely beautiful especially the Swedish ducks! I can not wait to place another order through ya'll next year and I have already referred Cackle Hatchery to many of my friends who will be ordering with me next year as well! Thanks for the awesome service!"

June 18, 2017

"My chicken crazy 7-year old wanted the Cackle Hatchery Surprise box as a Christmas present even though we told he we would wait until May to order it. It was completely worth the wait! We have ordered from quite a few other hatcheries, and Cackle Hatchery outdid them all! Not only was the variety of chicks amazing, every single chick arrived alive and active, and we have not lost a single one (they are now a month old). That is out of 56 chicks! Do not hesitate to order from them! They have made a lifelong customer of us."

June 14, 2017

"Just recieved our 5 Easter Eggers! This is the first time my husband and i are raising Hens so we are extremly excited to see all 4 (plus the added bonus chick) all alive and chirping away. I will give a more detailed review below my comment as time goes on but i can add some positive things now. I really liked how Cackle Hatchery called to let us know the chicks had been shipped and the tracking device they added in the email. The post office also called before they opened to let us know how cute they are and we could come in as soon as they open. The packaged box was very nice. The bedding, breathing holes, and i'm assuming a poop/pee pad(?) seemed to keep the chicks happy. They ate and drank right away and their energy seemed to amp up within 10 minutes. Love the variety of colors we recieved also. I was afraid since we had a very small order we would get mostly the same colored hens but i believe we got every single one. Cackles website has and will be really helpful to myself being a newbie. I printed out their care instructions to follow which is nicely put together and will refrence back to it as the weeks go by. So far so good. Thank you for our baby chicks. I'm definitely in love and can't wait to watch them thrive and grow."

June 5, 2017

"I received my adorable Golden Comet chicks last Thursday and today is Monday. They are healthy and eating and drinking water. Instead of paper towels, I am using large pee pads from Cosco that I use with my dogs. Since we do not park our cars in the garage, I have them nice and warm in there with a red heat brooder lamp. I have them on both the medicated Purina starter food and the organic Purina starter food to give them variety. Thank you Cackle Hatchery."

June 3, 2017

"Drove 2 hours to visit the store with my boys. We walked away with two ducks & a goose! We have ordered chicks from cackle in the past & have always gotten happy, healthy birds. I was very impressed with the knowledge & customer service we received. The young man that helped us went above & beyond to make it a great experience. We Can't wait to go back!!"

June 2, 2017

"Yesterday I made the drive down to the hatchery for their after Memorial Day event. Not only was the staff friendly, but even though it was incredibly busy it was extremely well organized. I think because of this not a single customer seemed to be annoyed or frustrated. Everyone seemed to be talking about how cool it was for this over hatch sale and giving tips to each other. It was a great crowd of people.

My 2 year old was SO happy and I felt completely safe with him in there.
The hatchery was very clean. He loved standing in line and being able to see the hatching chicks and the ducklings. You made his week. When we got them home he sat by the brooder telling each one goodnight .

I got chicks that I have been wanting all year and I'm not exaggerating when I say I got one of the cutest, fluffiest, and calmest Easter Egger I have even seen. She is GORGEOUS. All 18 of the chicks I received are beautiful and healthy. This will definitely be something we do every year and be the only place I get chicks from now on. Thank you!"

May 27, 2017

"Ordered 15 red sexlink female chicks and received 17. One died due to "pasty butt", but that was my fault for not recognizing it and addressing it before it got too bad. Live and learn. They shipped on time and the chicks arrived healthy and active. They grew quickly and joined our small flock a month earlier than we expected. One of the girls laid a nickel-sized egg six weeks earlier than we have expected because of past eggsperience. The instructions on their web site helped insure that the new chicks were well taken care of. This was my first experience with the Cackle Hatchery and we will definitely use them again."

May 25, 2017

"I purchased 15 blue silkies bantams and 15 buff brahma bantams from cackle hatchery 4 weeks ago and they gave me 3 extra ones they are very robust and healthy great service from cackle hatchery and great customer service my silkies are beautiful birds they had my order ready when I arived to pick them up there store front was well stocked with a good assortment of supplies and the staff was very outgoing and friendly and answered all my questions I am definitely ordering my Easter egger bantams from them next year you have a regular customer"

May 24, 2017

"We received 16 healthy and active chicks from the Cackle Hatchery. They have thrived, growing quickly. They joined our other flock with little issue and one of the girls actually laid a nickel-sized egg six weeks earlier than any hens we have purchased any where else. Their web site has the information you need and it is easy to find. We are so happy with the new girls and are looking forward to harvesting the hen fruit."

May 23, 2017

"I've ordered from Cackle several times. This time I ordered 15 red pyle Batman and 15 delaware chicks, plus 15 ancona ducklings. Cackle sent extras in my shipment and all were alive when I picked them up at the post office. I've now had them for a week and all are still alive and healthy!!!!"

May 19, 2017

"Loved the breed variety and ease of ordering. Loved the customer service. They delayed my order by two weeks, but let me know what was going on. My chicks were all very healthy, including my extra blue Cochin, and all were eating and drinking as soon as they hit the brooder. I will definitely be a customer for life. Thanks Cackle!"

May 17, 2017

"4 stars. All the chicks arrived healthy. Very pleased with them. The reason I give four stars is because I spoke to 4 people at cackle hatchery regarding this order since March and only 2 of the four were polite and pleasant on the phone. So refresh your customer service game a little bit and I'll be back!"

May 10, 2017

"I ordered 2 different times with 2 different breeds (speckled Sussex and Easter eggers) I did pay extra for the vaccines. I did not have 1 dead chick and all are thriving and doing well. I've received so many compliments on how healthy my chicks look. I've really enjoyed them and will definitely be ordering from them again."

May 8, 2017

"Now its been 5 week with the chicks I ordered. I got some easter eggers and silver lace polish. I could not be happier only had one doa out of 30 chicks and 5 weeks later no more had died. Very good quality of birds. This is my first mail order of chicks I am very happy and will order again."

May 7, 2017

"I ordered 15 ducks last year on this day, and somehow got shipped 16. 6 of the Anocona's were male and went to their freezer homes, while 3 were female and are great egg layers and foragers. I also ordered 7 Khaki Campbells, which are great egg layers as well. All ducks have been healthy and arrived in great shape! We will probably order from Cackle again if we can't find what we need locally."

May 5, 2017 

"This spring was my first time ordering from Cackle Hatchery (have had previous experience with other hatcheries - just received gift cards from Cackle this year) - the first order arrived April 7th, have waited to review until now. I had ordered: 5 Black Austra, 3 Cuckoo Maran, 3 Welsummer, 3 Speckled Sussex, 3 Brown Leghorn (all pullets) and 8 BarredRock Banties (s/r). Renee took my order via phone and was more than pleasant to work with, and even provided me with some info (first time brooding banty chicks). I had one Black Australorp who didn't make it past the first day - and I have one little "gopher" (I think she's a Leghorn pullet) that isn't growing and might have to be euthanized, but still eating and drinking and attempting to run around. The hatchery had sent an extra Barred Rock chick, and 2 extra standard sized chicks with my order (no charge of course). Overall, the rest of the order is thriving. Out of the Barred Rock Batams, I have 5 female and 4 male; and I suspect that one of my Black Australorps will turn out to be a rooster. Again, VERY pleased with my experience with both ordering, arrival, and quality of poultry received."

May 3, 2017

"I want to thank Cackle Hatchery for the excellent job shipping my ducklings and chicks, I order five Khaki Campbell ducklings, five cuckoo Marans pullets and five surplus Marans pullets. They added one extra cuckoo Marans chick, I am very happy with the surplus selection I received. It was very cold in March when they were shipped so I was concerned, but they were all in the same box and it was still warm in the box. They are all now 7 weeks old and all free ranging and doing great! Thanks again Cackle Hatchery!!"

April 30, 2017

"I am extremely satisfied with Cackle this is my first Hatchery experience and I will go back to this Hatchery again I ordered a surprise box I sent my money order out within 2 weeks I had received my box my of chicks they sent 53 beautiful Chicks. I was a little worried because I live so far away in New Hampshire but there was no DOA and 48 hours later every single one is doing well thank you so much Cackle"

April 29, 2017

"We've gotten two pair of geese and a ton of turkeys and chickens of various sizes, chicks and pullets, and numerous types. Cackle and Murray macmurry (not properly spelled) are the only hatcheries we trust that ship live. We never have even had one arrive dead with cackle, which is really often expected. Their (white chinese, in our case) geese are way cheaper than most hatcheries that ship, and the ganders, I've never in my life seen them so incredibly gigantic when grown. Just beautiful. I'm a fan. I grew up with poultry and a busy coop, and I've been having them ordered for 3 years here in my new place. If you go somewhere like tractor supply, well, the 12 white egg layers we bought resulted in 9 roosters to deal with and no I'm not kidding. It's a gamble when it comes to local selection and what they know about vs what they're selling, not to mention the sporatic selection. Local trade days result in hens being sold & sent home in potato sacks and one dying before 1st light. I was very cautious with my 1st order when i found & researched cackle after Murray didn't have geese for a quantity and price I needed, and we've since done business enough to say with confidence that this is one of two hatcheries that we trust. Never had an issue, but i pray they'd prove themselves capable of handling if we ever do. They seem to be more proactive when it comes to avoiding any potential problems. I prefer that approach, lol."

April 28, 2017

"Received my light Brahma and naked neck chicks. All where alive and well except one who got stuck between paper liner and cardboard we got it warmed up and its slowly coming around. Total freak accident!! Overall very satisfied with my birds they all look to be of good quality and health. Will definitely be ordering from you again."

April 26, 2017

"This is the second time I have ordered from Cackle. All of my chicks arrived alive. One was weak and couldn't digest its food for a few days, but now all 11 are doing great! They are so spunky and active, and growing very quickly. Just love my little chicks!"

April 19, 2017

"I received my first order from Cackle today. 21 precious little chicks and three adorable and energetic ducks. They arrived a day ahead of schedule and all are thriving. All of the little ones appear healthy and are doing wonderful. Thank you Cackle for these adorable little fluff balls!"

April 13, 2017

"Chicks arrived thriving (25 + 3 freebies of the jumbo cornish cross meat chicks) one week ago yesterday. They are all healthy and doing great! Thanks, Cackle...we'll be back with another order at the end of the summer!"

April 5, 2017

"Ordered a aurprize last fall, lost a few but that was post getting them home and likely beginners nievity. 2 guineas we got are still alive and well! As are a majority including 2 very handsome Maran Roos. We also ordered 3 african geese, one developed angel wing on one side, but she's currently sitting a nest of a dozen, reasonable prices and I would say ideal quality for the backyard hobbyist. Idk about show birds but had many compliments on my Roos. Waiting on our orders for this year but holeing they are as diverse and good quality as last years batch!"

April 4, 2017

"I'm about to receive another order from Cackle and i can't wait. I am very pleased with the treatment I get when I call, and I do not only call to buy, I 've called to ask questions and I get answers from people that love chickens like I do who tell me their own personal experience, people in Cackle are too nice. I've gotten extras in my orders, every chic in excellent conditions and I am from Puerto Rico!!!
Thank you guys!!!"

April 3, 2017

"Ordered 15 chicks (5 white leghorn, 10 dominique) on March 25. They shipped them out Monday, and I received them Wednesday morning. Perfect, no DOA. All are still perfect today. 
A nice lady called me on Monday morning to make sure I would be there on Wednesday morning to pick them up at the post office. 
They even sent 2 extra chicks. I couldn't be more happy with this hatchery."

March 31, 2017

"I have gotten 2 orders this year. Both cold delivery days. Both times, heat packs were included. One box had 2 in it! This was something I didn't expect. No DOA chicks either time. Only lost 1 chick out of 50 in the order that came a couple weeks ago. Thanks so much for taking the time to pay attention and take such good care of the birds!!!!"

March 29, 2017

"I'm in Montana so was worried about temperatures and vigor of the chicks upon arrival. It was 35 degrees here this morning. Got a call from the local post office 6:30 am that the chicks had arrived. All arrived in great condition, and within an hour were sprinting around the brooder! I highly recommend Cackle Hatchery. These folks clearly know what they are doing. I'm a customer for life and will give a hearty referral to anyone that'll listen!"

March 25, 2017

"I ordered one of their weekly specials, the "bantam special (15 chicks)". They shipped it on the day they said they were going to, and I was able to track the shipment. Unfortunately, my shipment was delayed (no fault of the Hatchery, at all!), and my chicks came over a day late, and had gone north (which was experiencing below 0° weather) before coming back south to me, so only one of the chicks survived the shipment. I tried to call, and couldn't get through, so I sent an email. They promptly emailed me back to let me know they were experiencing a high volume of calls after the weekend, and will have a service rep call me when they catch up. I received a call a day and a half later- the woman was very kind and understanding. She put me down for another bantam special, which will be shipping out Monday. I can't wait to receive my new chicks! The one chick that survived is absolutely beautiful! Super healthy and full of spunk! Thank you Cackle for your great customer service, and being so understanding of the situation. I will definitely order from you in the future!"

March 21, 2017

"We ordered a mystery box a few weeks ago. We received 54 chicks, all very different! We ended up with 3 turkeys, and so many that we can't even begin to identify yet. It looks like so far we have about 40 girls, which is great since we will be keeping them as egg layers/pets.

We are so happy with our order than in another week when these little ones are ready to be moved to the hen house, we are going to order another mystery box. Can't wait to see what we get next time! We very highly recommend cackle hatchery!

March 15, 2017

"I ordered 10 Barred Rock (1extra sent), 10 Buff Orpington, and 10 New Hampshire Red(1extra sent) and 15 Ancona Ducklings(1 extra sent). Well a blizzard hit here in NY yesterday, giving me over 2 ft of snow. Given that the ship date was Monday, I thought for sure we would be greeted by 2 boxes full of dead creatures. Happy to say, not a single DOA!!! Heat pack in the chick box was still warm, and everyone ate and drank. There are 3 smaller chicks that are a bit slow recovering, but no pasty butts either. When I went to the post office to pick them up, there was another box from another hatchery, twice the size of my two. While our boxes were chirping away, that box was barely making sounds. Thanks for a great job Cackle!! First time ordering online for me, and would order again from you in a heartbeat."

March 11, 2017

"I ordered 15 Heritage Rhode Island Hen chicks, and 2 Rooster Chicks. To my surprise, I had no DOA and here on the 2nd day, all are doing well. I was worried about the cold, but they put a heat pack in with the chicks and none were chilled. So far, I am very pleased. I am following instructions and will continue to do so. Warm water and heat light really got them going. They drink and eat constantly. I am sorry some folks are having problems, but all is fine here in Ocala. Maybe they are a hardier chicken, but I couldn't be more pleased."

March 9, 2017

"I recently ordered 50 heavy breed pullets from cackle hatchery, and I have never been more impressed with the condition of the chicks. They were all healthy looking, I lost none of them during shipping, and when I transferred them into their enclosure with food and water, they immediately began eating and drinking.

The price was outstanding, and my order was sent promptly. I am so thoroughly impressed, I will definitely be ordering from cackle hatchery again. I've never seen such great chicks, and I've ordered from other companies as well.

Edit to add: when I placed my online order I put a request of "ASAP" ship date, meaning I was willing to take them as soon as they come available. I was called not even a week after I placed the order to verify if I could receive them right away. I'm so happy with their outstanding customer service."

March 8, 2017

"Our chicks were ready for pick up at the post office a day early. Post master was worried because she didn't hear chirping like from other chick shipments. We opened the box ASAP and were delighted to find all babies doing great! They were double boxed and toasty warm. Once opened all the chicks could be heard chirping and were very active. The post master was very impressed and said she wished all hatcheries took such great care in packaging their chicks. Thank you for all our new little bantam hens. They are super healthy and doing great!"

March 3, 2017

"It is the best hatchery around. The staff treats you like family and always there when you need help. I have ordered all of my chicks from the hatchery. I just love brooder room when you choose what chicks you want. I just ordered a surprise and twenty five feathered bantams and there are doing great. I have only lost one so far."

March 3, 2017

"We ordered a mixed flock of 22 chicks. We were sent two extra chicks, both from breeds we requested in our order. The chicks arrived quickly and were in excellent shape right out of the box. The minute they hit the floor of the brooder, the entire group was active, eating, drinking and running around. I ordered from another hatchery a few years ago and had a very different experience with both customer service and chick health and quality. I will definitely order from Cackle when we replenish our flock in the future!"

March 2, 2017

"I order 15 chicks and they sent 2 extras of salmon faverolle chicks... Sent out yesterday I got today.. They had food heat pad.. Wish they had more than 5 starr because they need more... Thank you for my beautiful fluffy butts"

February 25, 2017

"I ordered 15 Mixed Colored Silkies I received 20 all alive. However 5 has died but that happens with baby chicks I'm not blaming anyone for that I understand how that goes. I am very pleased with my order and Cackle Hatchery. Thank you!"

February 24, 2017

"I ordered over the phone for a box of chicks, the customer service was fantastic and the people were very polite and understanding. I got my shipment of 34 chicks (Black New Jersey Giants, Plymouth Barred Rocks and White Australorps) to my home in Hawaii. The tracking for the shipment was sent to my email and was easy to follow, I picked up the small box at the post office with ease (you could hear the birds tweeting and all the other patrons at USPS had puppy dog eyes asking if I had baby chicks). The box had heating packs to keep the chicks warm and care papers to read on the top. To ship to Hawaii you need a higher minimum of birds and I had to pay an extra shipping fee but it was totally worth it! I am so happy with my new flock! Thank you Cackle Hatchery! 10/10"

February 24,2017 

"We order 54 chickens from them. More than half were ordered a month in advance after carefully selecting the date each chick would be available on. When the time came, they sent the correct information-invoice, instructions, and details like shipping info. Two days later, the post office calls, and we were able to get them. Thankfully the post office had enough sense to keep the birds inside to let them stay warm. Sadly, of the original 38, we had lost 3 (bringing the flock to 35). This was due to the birds either having cocci (from ingesting feces, or were born with it). We decided to order more, for variety. We ordered the last bit (16) and, received them in great condition. All of them are still doing great. We are at 3 weeks with the older ones and 2 weeks with the rest. They are getting their feathers in, practicing flight at times, wattles and combs developing. They are great birds and we will do business with Cackle Hatchery again, as we didn't have any major issues."

February 22, 2017

"Such a wide variety!! I ordered the Hatchery Surprise box and got 53 chicks! I mentioned I was interested in rare breeds, no water-fowl, and a wide variety and boy did they deliver! I have a very wide variety, most of them rare breeds. Only one died (week after due to blowout). I for sure have a Silkie, some Phoenix's, a Golden Spangled Appenzeller Spitzhauben (yes I'm 100% certain and was blown away), few Polish, number of different bantams, Easter Eggers, a many many more that I can't yet tell. SO happy!"

February 15, 2017

"Got my 3 babies this morning and all are doing great so far! They arrived with Grogel and chick food in their box as well as two heat packs, I couldn't be happier! I also received an email with tracking and got tracking earlier from their customer service because I wasn't sure I'd receive it via email. Thank you cackle!"

February 8, 2017

"I just ordered my first batch of chicks from Cackle Hatchery! I picked them up today and they are all very lively and adorable!! I ordered 26 and they threw in 5 extra ones :) I couldn't be more pleased with your customer service and how well you take care of the chicks. My fiance and I are so happy with the order, that we just placed another one! I can't wait to see what's in the mystery hatch box! Thank you Cackle Hatchery, you have just earned another loyal customer."

January 15, 2017

"I live in Washington state....we ordered 15 last may and they are all very happy and healthy!i did get a hen that I am not sure what she is! Maybe someone could tell me....pic #2! I don't have a thing bad to say about these guys!i look forward to ordering on the future!

January 15, 2017

"Ordered 15 rainbow pullets. Received 16, 2 are roosters but so far they are still sweet at 4.5 months old. Just got our first three eggs this week. Very healthy birds. I highly recommend Cackle Hatchery."

January 6, 2017

"I have ordered two times in different years. Both times I found the service to be excellent. The quality of the birds I have received has been wonderful. I will once again be ordering new birds this year. Thank you Cackle for the great service and chicks you provide"

December 29, 2016

"Love Cackle. My sister had ordered from another hatchery but when mine arrived she said they looked bigger and stronger and much healthier than where she has ordered from. I have ordered a few hundred, all have arrived alive and healthy. I have noticed Buff Orpington roosters slipping into my Female orders. But I am happy and have and Will continue to recommend Cackle to friends."

December 26, 2016

"I have purchased and had shipped over 3000 birds from Cackle over the years.
1. Not once has a single bird arrived dead.
2. The Cackle Staff has always been pleasant and called if there were any problems or delays with my order.
3. Any problems and I can only remember one were dealt with fast and friendly.
4. Yep when your order pullets you are going to get some cocks now and then.
5. There have always been 2-5 more birds per 100 order than I ordered.
6. The Birds have always arrived healthy and vigorous.
7. I suspect many of the dead bird complaints are either postal services fault or mishandling of the chicks once they arrive. Seen a lot of people find creative ways to kill 2-3 day old chicks and then blame the hatchery.
If I could give these folks 10 stars I would."

December 19, 2016

"Cackle Hatchery is a really good source for any type of chickens. Their shipments arrive strong and healthy. All of my chicks were alive and hearty with good ability to thrive. I bought Wyandottes, Orpingtons,Golden Laced and Red Laced Wyandottes as well as Speckled Sussex. They can survive cold temperatures with minimal care and they are all dependable layers.My Buff Orpington Rooster is remarkable at passing on his traits to chicks I have hatched.He has never displayed any aggression or fighting in the coop. I consider this flock to be a good investment.."

December 5, 2016

"We have ordered from cackle several times now. Each time we have had great results with all chicks arriving live and minimal loss in the weeks to follow. They've all grown up healthy, beautiful and strong birds. We will defiantly continue to order from Cackle in the future!"

December 1, 2016

"I purchased 15 silkies chicks (buff, black, and splash) this past july. I'm in nc, so a little bit of a hike for the chicks, and everyone arrived on time, happy and healthy. I actually ended up with 17 total, getting and extra buff and black. They all just hit maturity here and they grew up beautiful. Excellent quailty chicks. I highly recommend."

October 24, 2016

"I have ordered several healthy birds from Cackle Hatchery. All arrived alive and well. I ordered 25 jumbo Cornish cross and due to busy life they did not get butchered until 10 weeks. My turkeys I ordered are in great shape. I am now trying my hand at hatching my own but I know where to go if I want more! Thank u so much and I love ur posts, I read them everyday. Very informative."

October 19, 2016

"I've dealt with several hatcheries over the years. Cackle is by far the best from price to reliability. I've been to their hatchery in Lebanon. They are great people all of them. It's a wonderful stop if you're in SW Missouri. Visit them!"